Home » How to Buy a Property in Qatar

How to Buy a Property in Qatar

by salkhzlyh
property in Qatar

Buying a property in Qatar can be a great investment. Whether you want to buy a property in Doha for you and your family to live in, or you wish to buy something for other reasons, purchasing real estate can pose many benefits.

However, if you are a non-Qatari, you must adhere to special rules and regulations. For example, foreigners are only allowed to buy property in certain specific areas in Qatar. And that’s not the only thing you need to know before buying a property in Qatar.

In this short guide, you will find out exactly how to buy real estate in Doha (or elsewhere in Qatar). This short article can help you in the long run and prevent a lot of future frustration and confusion.

Are you asking yourself the question: Should I buy property in Qatar? Then you want to read this guide first.

Where can I buy a property in Qatar?

In the past, non-Qataris couldn’t buy property in Doha or the rest of Qatar. This changed in 2004 when the Qatari government opened the real estate market for ex-pats. However, options were limited, as ex-pats could only buy real estate in specific city districts.

The initial districts that opened up for non-Qatari purchase were:

  • The Pearl
  • West Bay Lagoon
  • Al Khor Resort Project

Since then, the Qatari government has slowly changed regulations in favor of foreigners purchasing property in Doha. The most recent move forward was the Cabinet Resolution No. 28 of 2020, which opened up several other areas in Qatar for ex-pats for either ownership or benefit of property.

This new resolution granted non-Qataris the right to own and use real estate (freehold) in a total of 9 areas:

  • The Pearl
  • West Bay (Al Qutaifiya)
  • Al Khor Resort
  • Al Dafna (Administrative Area No. 60)
  • Al Dafna (Administrative Area No. 61)
  • Onaiza (Administrative Area No. 63)
  • Lusail
  • Al Kharayej
  • Jabal Thuaileb.

Aside from these freehold areas, the state has further opened up 16 usufruct areas where non-Qataris may benefit from real estate for 99 years. These areas are:

  • Musheireb (area 13)
  • Fereej Abdulaziz (area 14)
  • Al Doha Al Jadeeda (area 15)
  • Old Al Ghanim (area 16)
    Al Rifaa and Old Al Hitmi (area 17)
  • Isslata (area 18)
  • Fereej Bin Mahmoud (area 22)
  • Fereej Bin Mahmoud (area 23)
  • Rawdat Al Khail (area 24)
  • Al Mansoura and Fereej Bin Durham (area 25)
  • Najma (area 26)
  • Umm Ghuwailina (area 27)
  • Al Khulaifat (area 28)
  • Al Sadd (area 38)
  • Old Doha International Airport (area 48)

To further assist ex-pats in their property search, the Ministry of Justice has recently launched a specific section on their website about non-Qatari land ownership.

As soon as you buy a property in Qatar worth QAR730,000 or above, you are automatically granted a homeowners’ residency permit. This permit entitles you (and your family) to live in Qatar as long as you own the property. The new section on the government website aims to speed up this process as it automatically guides you through the residency application procedure.

You are ready to buy property in Qatar.

And that is the process. Since initially opening the market to ex-pats in 2004, the Qatari government has increasingly welcomed foreigners. Anno 2020, buying a property in Qatar will be easier than ever.

That said, it is always advisable to get in touch with a licensed real estate agency to help you out. It can save you a lot of time and stress.

Read More: Watch the 60 sickest crossovers of the NBA season

You may also like

Leave a Comment